AASHTO Subcommittee on Asset Management

Transportation Asset Management is a strategic and systematic process of operating, maintaining, upgrading, and expanding physical assets effectively throughout their lifecycle. It focuses on business and engineering practices for resource allocation and utilization, with the objective of better decision making based upon quality information and well-defined objectives.

Upcoming Meetings

The calendar includes listings for meetings, webinars, and peer exchanges pertaining to the Subcommittee on Asset Management. Click on any event title to learn more about the event. Event details include time and location, a brief description, maps and directions, and – where available – a downloadable link to add the event to your calendar.

No Events on The List at This Time

Current Membership

The current membership is available at: https://portal.transportation.org.


Advance the State-of-the-Practice of Transportation Asset Management.


Transportation Asset Management is the standard of practice for state DOTs and others to manage the nation’s physical transportation assets to optimize investment decisions.


Chair: Matt Haubrich, Iowa DOT
Secretary: Stephen Gaj, FHWA
Liaison: Matthew Hardy, AASHTO

The mission of the CPBM Subcommittee on Asset Management is to help improve the state-of-the-practice of asset management in State transportation departments. The Subcommittee works to help states optimize resources by utilizing performance-based goals and measures for operation, preservation, and improvement of their transportation systems.

The subcommittee provides information about the development of asset management tools, analysis methods, and research; communicates with AASHTO member States on how to utilize asset management; assists member states in implementing asset management principles; documents how asset management is being used and can be used in the future; and develops partnerships with public and private entities having an interest in and commitment to asset management.

The Subcommittee on Asset Management leadership includes a chair from the Standing Committee on Planning, a vice chair from the Standing Committee on Highways, and a secretary from the Federal Highway Administration. Subcommittee on Asset Management membership includes eight representatives from the Standing Committee on Planning (two per AASHTO region), and eight representatives from the Standing Committee on Highways (two per AASHTO region). In addition, membership includes one member each from the Administrative Subcommittee on Transportation Finance, the Standing Committee on Public Transportation, and the Standing Committee on Rail Transportation.